Doll-E 1.0

Little, Brown Books for Young Readers - A stem-friendly tale of a girl and the doll she upgrades to be her new friend, for fans of The Most Magnificent Thing and Rosie Revere, Engineer. Charlotte's world is fully charged! With her dog at her side, coding, she's always tinkering, clicking, and downloading. She's got a knack for anything technological--especially gadgets that her parents don't know how to fix! Then, she receives a new toy that is quite a puzzle: a doll! What's she supposed to do with that? Once she discovers the doll's hidden battery pack, things start to get interesting.

. While her faithful canine sidekick wonders if he'll be overshadowed by the new and improved Doll-E 1. 0! with a little ingenuity and an open mind, everyone can be friends in this endearing, modern tribute to the creative spirit of play.





How to Code a Sandcastle

Viking Books for Young Readers - If they can create working code, relatable situations, this could turn out to be the best beach day ever! With renowned computer science nonprofit Girls Who Code, Josh Funk and Sara Palacios use humor, and bright artwork to introduce kids to the fun of coding. From the computer science nonprofit Girls Who Code comes this lively and funny story introducing kids to computer coding concepts.

All summer, and this time, pearl has been trying to build the perfect sandcastle, but out-of-control Frisbees and mischievous puppies keep getting in the way! Pearl and her robot friend Pascal have one last chance, they’re going to use code to get the job done. Using fundamental computer coding concepts like sequences and loops, Pearl and Pascal are able to break down their sandcastle problem into small, manageable steps.





Unplugged

Scholastic Press - From the creator of the bestselling Mr. Suddenly, blip's gray world is filled with color and excitement. Panda series comes an amusing picture book about the fun you can have when you unplug. Meet Blip. She plays with her new friends and has adventures all day long. When blip finally returns home, she realizes that the world can be even brighter once you unplug.

Blip loves being plugged into her computer. When a blackout occurs, Blip trips over her wire and tumbles outside.





Chicken Clicking

Andersen Press - Little red riding hood for the iPad generation, this is the perfect book for teaching children how to stay safe online. Andersen press. A timely and cautionary tale about the perils of misusing the internetone night Chick hops onto the farmer's house and has a browse on his computer—CLICK—soon she's shopping online for the whole farm! But when she arranges to meet up with a friend she's made online, she discovers all is not as it seems.





Once Upon a Time... Online: Happily Ever After Is Only a Click Away!

Parragon - Once upon a time, a laptop arrived in Fairy-tale land. Once upon a Time. Parragon. A happily ever after is only a click away! Find out what happens when our favorite fairy-tale characters receive a laptop and learn a lesson in online safety. Andersen press. Online is illustrated by Rose Reeve and written by David Bedford.





The Technology Tail: A Digital Footprint Story Communicate with Confidence

Boys Town Press - Whether tapping out messages on their computers, tablets or phones, Screen wants kids to know their words will follow them for life, creating a digital trail that can't be erased. A cute, creative story about children and their texts, tweets, posts and pics. There are also tips for parents and teachers who want to reinforce kindness and respect in a high-tech world.

Andersen press. Written for children in grades 1-6, this storybook uses rhymes and colorful illustrations to grab their attention. Don t be mean and irresponsible! That s the straight-to-the-point advice Screen has for young readers who are active on social media. Parragon. A timeless message to a new generation just learning how to navigate the fast-changing digital age.





Hello Ruby: Adventures in Coding

Feiwel & Friends - Parragon. In ruby's world anything is possible if you put your mind to it. Then, these basic concepts at the core of coding and programming will be reinforced through fun playful exercises and activities that encourage exploration and creativity. It introduces programming without requiring a computer at all.

Hello ruby is half picture book and half activity book rolled into one adorable package. The point of the book isn’t to teach you a programming language, but programming concepts. GeekMom. Commeet ruby―a small girl with a huge imagination, and the determination to solve any puzzle. Andersen press. As ruby stomps around her world making new friends, and the messy robots, like how to break big problems into small ones, the Friendly Foxes, kids will be introduced to the fundamentals of computational thinking, including the Wise Snow Leopard, create step-by-step plans, look for patterns and think outside the box through storytelling.





Nerdy Birdy Tweets

Roaring Brook Press - A welcome message about social media pitfalls and the importance of nurturing our real-life friendships, told through a humor-filled story that kids will relate to. Seira wilson, vulture, Amazon EditorNerdy Birdy and his best friend, are very different. Vulture loves snacking on dead things, but Nerdy Birdy finds that GROSS.

Parragon. Vulture watches as nerdy birdy gets swept up in his new friendships, but when she finally gets angry, Nerdy Birdy knows just what to do to make things right. A neal porter Book Andersen press. Luckily, you don’t have to agree on everything to still be friends. One day, nerdy birdy joins Tweetster, and the friend requests start flying in.

Nerdy Birdy Tweets - Nerdy birdy loves video games, but Vulture finds them BORING.





Made by Maxine

Dial Books - Meet maxine, an inspiring young maker who knows that with enough effort and imagination and mistakes, it's possible to invent anything. Maxine loves making new things from old things. She also loves her pet goldfish, Milton. So when it's time for her school's pet parade, she's determined to create something that will allow Milton to march with the other animals.

Finally, and trying again, after trying, she discovers just the right combination of recycled odds and ends to create a fun, trying, functional--and absolutely fabulous--solution to her predicament. Andersen press. She loves tinkering until she has solved a problem. Parragon.





Izzy Gizmo

Peachtree Publishing Company - Can izzy overcome her failures? or is her friend destined to live as a crow who can’t fly? From author Pip Jones, this inspiring story of perseverance in the face of failure showcases a sweet friendship illustrated with bright, zany art of from the acclaimed Sara Ogilvie. And often malfunction. Izzy gizmo’s inventions are marvelous, magnificent.

Debut is sure to capture the imaginations of aspiring young inventors. But when she finds a crow with a broken wing, she has to help! Izzy tries again and again to build a new pair of wings, but nothing is working. Parragon. Andersen press. A feisty tale of determination, ingenuity, and friendship, Pip Jones’ U.





Snail Mail

Running Press Kids - Although it took much longer, everyone agreed that letters were a little more special when they were delivered by Snail Mail. Andersen press. They might even contain a surprise inside! One such letter was sent by a Girl to the Boy she loved, and it was up to four special snails to deliver her card across the country.

They might include a drawing. The snails trek across the country-through desert heat and dangerous blizzards, through cities and forests-and along the way, across mountains and plains, they find that taking time to slow down and look around makes the journey all the more beautiful. Parragon. They might be handwritten.

Snail Mail - Nothing says love like an old-fashioned lettera long, before email and texting, long time ago, the mail was delivered in a much slower way-it was called Snail Mail because some thought it was delivered by a snail. Snail mail's playful and educational story encourages kids to have slow living, and to approach life with determination and wonder.

Kids and parents alike will delight in this celebration of America's beauty and the power of a simple handwritten letter. Julia patton's rich illustrations showcase America's diverse terrain and national monuments from coast to coast.